Hi all, so I have had a busy day at home with Mammy, we have played with the ball and done some training including continuing my almost perfected toilet training. I still have the odd accident but I don’t poop around the clock anymore or leave as many presents around for people to step in with their socks or bare feet! With this in mind I thought what better time to share my first most useful training tip with you all… House training!!

All rescue puppies need to be house trained but also some adult ones too. Whether you have a puppy or adult the process will still be the same although adult doggies don’t tend to poop as much as I do!!

1. Set the precedent! The second I arrive home take me to the garden and wait until I have relieved myself before allowing me into the house. This will help set the standard from the start.

2. As a general rule puppies like me should be put outside to be relieved when we wake up, after eating, after play and exercise and whenever it starts to look like we need to go! This may be as often as every 20 minutes at the start! However as time goes on and we get bigger and stronger our bladder and bowl muscles become stronger and more efficient at holding on for longer periods of time. I am now clean overnight for the last week and Mammy is very proud as this can be tough for us! We may have to be up to four months old before we are physically able to stay clean overnight. So the later we are taken out for our last relief of the day the better!

3. Crate training is a fantastic way of speeding up the toilet training process. For those of you who aren’t familiar with a crate they are like a big metal cage. At first I wasn’t sure about my crate but when mammy put all my favourite toys in there along with some soft bedding and treats and allowed me to explore it by myself, leaving the doors open I decided this was my safe place! I come in here to chill out and have some me time! It also limits my movement overnight which encourages me not to go to the toilet! You will need a puppy pad in the crate until your puppy is able to stay clean so that they are not forced to go on their sleeping area. The crate must also be big enough to provide a separate toilet and sleeping area. I will attach a pic of me in my crate so you will get the idea! I will also cover crates and crate training in more detail soon.

4. Consistency and positivity is key
Try to feed at the same times every day. This will make poop times more predictable. Make a huge fuss when your puppy has done a poop or pee and reward with a treat. Try to make it as fun as possible for your puppy so they will enjoy going out and associate it with a positive experience.

5. What not to do!
Don’t push the puppies nose in his urine. This is a totally outdated myth which has absolutely no relevance to successful training and is cruel.
Don’t scold the puppy if you catch him relieving himself indoors. This will form a negative association and make the puppy more likely to go in areas and places where you aren’t around. It may also prevent them wanting to relieve themselves outside in front of you. A good tip for clean up is to use washing powder in some warm water as unlike bleach and floor disinfectants which are acidic, washing powder is alkaline! Acidic products can smell like wee to us doggies and can make us more likely to repeat soil an area.
Don’t expect too much too soon! House training takes time and puppies only have tiny bladders and bowels at a young age so please be patient, it will be worth it

Benjy 🐾

P.S Here I am in my crate enjoying my nylabone toy xx10320517_1665452313717042_5869358615328996320_n

